Go to navigation (press enter key)Menu

Employee Holiday Schedule - Previous Year

2016-2017 Fiscal Year


Independence Day Monday, July 4, 2016
Labor Day Monday, September 5, 2016
Thanksgiving Thursday, November 24, 2016
Day After Thanksgiving Friday, November 25, 2016
Winter Break Friday, December 23, 2016
Winter Break Monday, December 26, 2016
Winter Break Tuesday, December 27, 2016
Winter Break Wednesday, December 28, 2016
Winter Break Thursday, December 29, 2016
Winter Break Friday, December 30, 2016
New Year's Day Monday, January 2, 2017
Spring Holiday* Friday, April 14, 2017
Memorial Day Monday, May 29, 2017

Vassar converted four traditional holidays, Lincoln's Birthday, Washington's Birthday, Martin Luther King Day and Veteran's Day, in order to create a long winter break as an energy conservation measure a number of years ago.   The winter break holidays are celebrated on a date determined by the college and for 2016/17 will fall on December 27, 28, 29, 30.

Faculty members may opt to teach on holidays that occur when school is officially in session.  Hourly employees who may be required to work on holidays are compensated according to contract requirements or policies and procedures adopted by the College.

This is an anticipated schedule of holiday observances only and may be changed at the discretion of the College.  Holidays are assigned as days off unless authorized by a supervisor.

*Administrators may choose to take the Spring Holiday as a Personal Floating Holiday.  Personal floating holiday time must be scheduled in advance with the supervisor.  The personal floating holiday must be taken by the end of the fiscal year or forfeited.

Add to Google Calendar

Click to add the VC Holidays calendar to your Google Calendar